Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dinner had to be quick tonight.

Daryl had to come home from his teaching job for about an hour and then had to rush off to his part time retail job until 10 pm tonight. I was prepared to make him a feast that shouts “I care!” but didn’t involve tons of time.

This is the result:

boneless organic chicken from Whole Foods, pearl couscous mixed with nectarines, pistachios in a Dijon mustard dressing and sauteed peppers and onions.

The chicken breasts were already de-boned at Whole Foods with the skin on. I love the crackly texture and look of the baked skin and we rarely eat chicken that way, so it was a bonus. I rubbed both sides of the breast with generous amounts of fresh rosemary, sea salt and cracked pepper.

I like to get the skin really crisp so I like to pre-cook it (sort of) by tossing the chicken, skin down, into a very hot skillet that I’ve very thinly coated with EVOO. Once the skin is a golden color, I place the breasts skin side up into a baking dish that has about a quarter of an inch of organic chicken stock in it. This prevents sticking and also provides some additional moisture to the meat. I bake the chicken at 375 for 30 minutes.

While the chicken is baking, I started the couscous (recipe below) and sautéed the peppers and onions. The whole dinner prep time was about 15 minutes and the meal was ready in a little over half an hour. DELICIOUS!

INGREDIENTS FOR COUSCOUS:

I used pearl couscous for this dish
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
½ tsp Dijon mustard
olive oil
1 to 2 organic nectarines, diced
small handful of chopped or torn spinach
½ cup chopped pistachios
¼ cup sliced scallions
sea salt and pepper to taste

Bring 1 ½ cups of water to a boil. Stir in couscous, cover and remove from heat. Let stand for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork. Meanwhile, in a bowl, whisk together the vinegar and mustard. Drizzle olive oil for consistency. Add couscous, nectarines, spinach, pistachios and scallions to bowl and toss.

WINE BREAK: French Merlot. Thierry & Guy’s Fat Bastard

