Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was feeling like Fall. I mean even though the humidity was rather high today, I felt like I wanted to make something autumnal.

I had tried a delicious light pumpkin ale from Dockstreet at a pub in Philly a few weeks ago and a few of my friends have been mentioning pumpkin pies, and spiced cocktails and the changing leaves… so I thought I’d attempt to make pumpkin soup as an appetizer for dinner!

I found a recipe online by Rachael Ray (who I’m not necessarily a fan of now, but I WAS during her start on TV with 30-Minute Meals). I gotta tell you, this soup was BANGIN’!. I have had pumpkin soup at many a fine establishment so I know how it should taste. I played with Rachael’s recipe and I was quite pleased with how it turned out. It also includes a relish to top the soup with that I highly recommend.

RECIPES:

Pumpkin Soup:
1 tbs olive oil
2 tbs butter
1 fresh bay leaf
2 ribs celery (finely chopped)
1/2 medium yellow onion (finely chopped)
2 tbs all-purpose flour
1 tbs fresh chopped thyme
1 tbs hot sauce
3 cups organic chicken stock
2 cans of pumpkin puree
1 cup of heavy cream
freshly grated nutmeg
I added some red pepper flakes too!

Relish:
1 Granny Smith apple (finely chopped)
1/4 red onion (finely chopped)
2 tbs lemon juice
1/2 cup dried sweet cranberries (chopped)
1 tsp chili powder
2 tsp honey
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions:
Heat a soup pot with the olive oil and butter over medium high heat. Add the bay leaf, celery and onion. Season the veggies with salt and pepper. Sautee until tender. Add the flour, thyme and hot sauce. Stir the flour in and let cook for a minute to dissolve. Whisk in chicken stock and bring to a slow boil, Whisk in pumpkin puree in large spoonfuls. Turn soup down to simmer for about 10 minutes while adding heavy cream and nutmeg. Serve warm with a few spoonfuls of the relish on top.

For dinner we had an eye roast with peppers and potatoes, and when dinner was finished we got…

