Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After working 12 hours on Saturday and 9 hours today, I KNEW I wanted to make something that was EASY, tasty and FUN this Sunday evening! I had my partner Daryl, soak my skewers (that almost sounds vulgar) for a few hours while I was at work. He was also responsible for coming up with a great cocktail. Iced pear martinis. SUCCESS!

He designed a wonderful concoction that included this Ste Chapelle Ice Wine Riesling from the breathtaking state of Idaho and Absolut’s Pear Vodka with a splash of ginger ale garnished with a thin slice of a crisp Bosc pear. AMAZING!

I threw together some frozen shrimp with 2 tablespoons of red pepper flakes and a few sprinkles of cumin. I added some small red potatoes sliced in half and nuked. Peppers, sweet onions, a tomato and a Granny Smith apple, all on a skewer drizzled with olive oil and some fresh thyme and you’ve got a great kaBob!

I broiled 4 skewers for about 5 minutes on each side then placed on a bed of black beans and brown rice.

Yet another way to clean out the fridge!

