Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I haven’t tried a chicken thigh dish in quite some time. I think it’s because Daryl told me once that he’s not crazy about them, so I opted to not make them… until tonight.

Actually I was going to roast a whole chicken during the day, however, my best laid plans were thwarted by a slight… um… emergency. The goal for my day off was to clean the kitchen top to bottom. I wanted to clean the fridge, clear and clean all the countertops and wash and wax the floor. I thought I’d start early by using the self cleaning feature of our oven. What I had neglected to remember was that I had forgotten to clean the bottom of the oven first of an earlier overflow of juices and olive oil from a previous weeks dinner.

I went to shower while the oven was “self-cleaning” and came out to a condo full of thick smoke. I immediately called 911 and within minutes a team of well-equipped handsome firemen showed up at my door while I was in a towel. Needless to say, I had turned the oven OFF of the cleaning feature, but apparently it was still on a timer of some kind. The firemen checked things out, opened some windows, brought in a few high powered fans and soon my emergency was well under control. Whew! I thanked them, and continued cleaning the condo later in the morning no worse for wear.

I will still have to eventually get down on my knees to CLEAN the oven tomorrow, so tonight’s dinner was destined to be stove TOP creation.

I marinated 4 boneless chicken thighs for about 2 hours in my own concoction which consisted of about 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar, a few dashes of Worchestire Sauce, a tbsp. of olive oil, 3 smashed cloves of garlic, about 1/2 cup of thinly sliced scallions, some fresh rosemary, a tbsp. (or two) of crushed red pepper flakes and about a tsp. of lemon zest.

I sauteed them on medium for approximately 10 to 15 minutes per side in a pan with 2 tbls. of butter and about half of a diced sweet onion. The butter and onion become carmelized and make a wonderful crust that coats the chicken.

I also made some brown rice with diced red peppers and onion in a pan with 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock and some cracked pepper.

The thighs were a hit. A nice HOT pepper kick to them and the side dish was perfect. Daryl went back for more!

