Tags

, , , , , ,

I love pears. I love pairs. I love pear flavored vodka. I love making something that’s easy, yet looks like a dish that you ordered at a fancy restaurant.

I got this idea from Rufus’ blog. I adapted it according to my instincts, my partner Daryl’s tastes, and also according to how many glasses of Cabernet I drank during the preparation process. I seriously have a hard time with recipes that list more than 8 ingredients. This one was easy, adaptable and just plain fun.

I used 2 pears. One Bosc and one red Asian. I sliced each in half, then scooped a hole in each half, enough to house a pile of “goodies.” I placed all 4 halves into a cupcake tin (so they wouldn’t fall over during baking) and splashed all of them with some pear flavored vodka.

I drizzled all of them with honey and then had my way with whatever fillings I wanted to use. I mixed it up. In one pear, I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, almond slivers, and some brown sugar. In another I used dried cranberries, a few glazed pecans, and the crumbs of a vanilla wafer. Still another held a few raisins, lemon zest, and some crumbled feta cheese. The possibilities are as endless as your imagination. What a great way to include a partner in the process, or even a child!

Bake the pears at 375 for about 40 to 45 minutes. Drizzle some more honey on the plate, garnish with a couple of vanilla wafers and dust with cinnamon.

