Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I never tried eating or cooking butternut squash before. Call me sheltered. Maybe I was brought up under a big rock or perhaps I just didn’t think that butternut squash would taste as good as I made it taste tonight!

INGREDIENTS:
2 cups of cubed butternut squash (I cheated and bought it pre-cut)
half a large sweet onion
half a red pepper
half a yellow pepper
2 cups kale, chopped
2 cloves fresh garlic, chopped or pressed

THE EXPERIENCE OF CREATING:
I baked the butternut squash for about 20 minutes at 375 by placing it on a lined cookie sheet and drizzling olive oil on the cubes. While that was baking, I poured a tbls of olive oil in a saute pan with the garlic and put on medium to fuse the garlic into the oil. I diced the onion and peppers and peppered them liberally before tossing them into the pan for about 10 minutes. Once the butternut squash was almost baked, I pulled it out of the oven and tossed it into the saute pan. I added the kale and sautéed all the vegetables for an additional 5 minutes.

Spectacularly beautiful and absolutely delicious! It made a great side with a fish and rice dish.

