Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I work in a retail establishment. Twice a year we have a huge “Friends and Family Sale” where we do a potluck dinner for all of the associates to enjoy. For past sales, I’ve done macaroni and 4-cheese, crock pot chili, and other assorted homemade dishes throughout my 7 years working with this company.

This years “theme” was Thanksgiving and we had delicious turkey, sweet-potatoes, salads and sides. I decided to concoct a cranberry side dish, but I opted to combine a couple of different recipes that I had, to come up with my own different version of a traditional Thanksgiving side dish/relish.

It was most definitely a hit and I will be sure to do this one again. It was easy, quick, inexpensive, and makes a truly festive presentation to any holiday meal.

INGREDIENTS REQUIRED
1 bag (12 oz) washed cranberries
1 cup white sugar
1 cup FRESH orange juice
1 large Bosc pear, peeled, cored and diced
1 Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored and diced
1 tsp fresh ground ginger

THE EXPERIENCE OF CREATION
Heat all ingredients in a large saucepan to boil.
Reduce heat to medium and cook uncovered for about 5 to 7 minutes or until cranberries begin to “pop” and pears and apples are tender while stirring occasionally.
Mixture will thicken as it cools. Once completely cool, refrigerate for up to 3 hours.
Garnish with thin pear slices.

