Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love shrimp. I ALWAYS have a bag of frozen shrimp on hand to whip up dinner in a snap. Last Monday, Daryl had a switch in his part time work schedule so we could actually hang out together which is unheard of for a Monday afternoon!

Bliss.

We decided (read: I decided) that I want to decorate the small patio of our condo with a few lights and a wreath this year. We ended up at a local craft store and hardware store to get SOME of the things needed.

At one of the shopping centers there was a local watering hole, and it WAS about Happy Hour time (okay, so maybe we were a tad early), but we decided to imbibe on some local beers on tap. As it turned out we ran into a few old friends and Happy Hour turned into Happy HourS. When we finally got home at about 7:00 pm, I had to be quick about dinner.

I did a quick inventory of the fridge and the pantry, and this is what I came up with.

INGREDIENTS:
20 shrimp (thawed in warm water, if frozen)
3 links of turkey sausage cut into bite size pieces (Daryl likes the skin removed)
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes
1 can red beans
a few snips of scallions
a few snips of fresh parsley
paprika
2 tbsp butter (okay, I had a few beers earlier, so I made it 3 tbsp)
1 cup dry white wine
a clove or two of garlic
salt and lots of fresh cracked pepper
whole wheat penne pasta
Parmesan cheese

THE PROCESS:
Boil water for the pasta.
I sauteed the sausage first in a separate pan to get it started. I finished it in the same pan as the shrimp to add some flavor.
Drop butter in a pan at medium heat. Add minced garlic and allow to fuse with and flavor butter (about 3 or 4 minutes). Add white wine and let it reduce about half. Add shrimp, sprinkle with a pinch or two of paprika and loads of black pepper. Toss in sun-dried tomatoes and drained beans and cook until shrimp is opaque. Add scallions and parsley before removing from heat.
Place on top of penne and garnish with fresh grated Parmesan cheese.

I also did an inventory of the liquor cabinet (read: top of fridge), and Daryl had gotten us some Vanilla vodka to try earlier in the week.

BINGO. Black Vanilia Martini!

Black Vanilia: 2 parts Vanilla vodka, 2 parts apple juice, 1 squirt lemon juice, a few drops of simple syrup and a stream of organic blackberries on a skewer.

 
